NEXT EVENT  Monday, May 30
Summit USMTS National Championship

Mason City Motor Speedway on deck for Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour

Print this page
July 28, 2017

A new destination is on deck for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network as the series debuts at the Mason City Motor Speedway on Sunday, July 30.

Breaking into new territory, Sunday stands to be the fastest Iowa oval to see action with the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour. Operated by Al Hejna and USMTS president Todd Staley, the half-mile sits on the North Iowa Fairgrounds.

Sunday’s event will utilize traditional ASCS draw/passing point format and is the only Sprint Car event on the 2017 lineup. The last time Sprint Cars graced Mason City clay was 2016 with the National Sprint League victory going to Missouri’s Danny Lasoski over Sammy Swindell and Ian Madsen.

Sunday offers up a $3,000 winner's check and $400 to start the A-Feature.

Going into this weekend’s pair of Iowa events, Sam Hafertepe, Jr. looks to extend his advantage over Aaron Reutzel, as the pair of Texas drivers are separated by only 30 markers. With both favoring well at bigger tracks, as evident in the weekend split of the Rushmore Rumble, both are being chased by Oklahoma’s Matt Covington, who has not finished outside the top-ten in his last 15 starts.

Taking this past weekend off to get engines in place, New Mexico’s Johnny Herrera holds fourth with Wayne Johnson fifth. Seth Bergman is sixth with Blake Hahn seventh.

Skylar Gee leads the Brodix Rookie of the Year standings with Harli White in tow. Cleared to return to competition following a crash earlier this season, Canada’s Alex Hill will resume her tour this weekend as well.

Sunday's show will begin with hot laps at 6 p.m. and includes USRA Stock Cars, USRA B-Mods, Rookies Rockin' USRA Tuners and USRA Hobby Stocks as part of the Ted Zieman Memorial. Admission is $20 for adults and kids 12 and under get in free.

More information on Mason City Motor Speedway can be found at www.masoncitymotorspeedway.com.